Wounded and bleeding

8 06 2010

The Lord gave me an awesome word for my friend who was feeling abused by God.

He quite simply said, “The world is the abusive parent. I am the Savior.”

It is a challenge to hear and understand a Word like this when you are wounded and bleeding. My friend just looked battle weary as I tried to relay that message. You see, I have complete faith that God has an amazing plan for my friend. I also know that we have an enemy who wants us never to reach our God ordained potential.

As I pondered how the world could be abusive, many things came to mind. Here are a few thoughts.

  1. Our world is made up of people. Some are well balanced and well meaning, while others are wounded. Some folks are crazy and some are just plain mean. At any rate, people can do some pretty crappy things that make this world a hostile environment. Wounded people wound people.
  2. Our morals have been compromised to the point where we rationalize cheating and stealing and character assassination.
  3. I have read (and I believe it to be true) that if we are standing next to a person who takes a lethal bullet to the brain, our first thought is, glad that bullet didn’t hit me. I don’t think we can help thinking that way. It is in our human nature to protect ourselves first.

Our very next thought might well be, how can I help this person; but the first thought speaks volumes about our human nature. We think to protect ourselves above all else.  That mind set causes us all kinds of sorrow. People do things while in self preservation mode that they regret for years to come. And when they do it to me…. I go into self preservation mode and end up isolating in my misery. Or, worse than that, I go into retaliation mode and do or say things that I will regret.

The bottom line is this: The world is made up of people and people wound each other all day long.

The world is the abusive parent. I am the Savior.

I can not even imagine where I would be today if I did not have God to lean on through the insanity of these past two years.

  • God has been my strength.
  • God has given me a sound mind
  • God has been my shoulder to cry on.
  • God has been my deliverer.
  • God has directed my steps.
  • God has caused me to prosper.
  • God has been, and still is, healing me. Body and soul.
  • God has shed His mercy on me and reminded me to be merciful to others.
  • God has been my dream giver.
  • God has been my best friend.
  • God has been all powerful in my life.
  • God has been my redeemer.
  • God has stuck by me, closer than a brother.
  • God has been my protection and my strong tower to run into for safety.
  • God has been my grace.
  • God knows me intimately, and He loves me.
  • God knows the number of hairs on my head, and He loves me.
  • God knows every word in my mouth before I even speak it, and still, He loves me.

I am sincerely praying for my friend.

Dear Lord, Please show my friend that you are not an abusive parent. Do not let this precious one go through another day without knowing Your true nature. Reveal the Truth of Who You are. Heal the wounds. Jesus, save Your little lamb. Thank You. I look forward to the day that I hear my friend call You Friend. And it is in Your Holy Name that ask this of You. Amen


Actions

Information

2 responses

9 06 2010
Jen

This is a great post. May I be the one looking to see how I can help the wounded one and be less concerned w/ me.

Like

22 06 2010
My family's journey to recovery.

Thanks so much for sharing this. I too have been wounded by people that are close to me. It’s good to remember that sometimes those that hurt us may by hurting, or incapable of understanding how much they hurt us. No matter how much pain people cause me, I have a God that can use that pain for His glory! I am being refined in the fires of life, so that I might become more like Christ.

Like

Leave a comment