The Kind diet

26 06 2010

Baby steps. Here we go again. Another leg of my life long journey to achieve and MAINTAIN a healthy weight. Blah, blah, blah goes the inner dialog. No time to eat right, no discipline to work out, too busy, too tired, too hot, too cold, too dog gone lazy!

While I was working in Shreveport, I had the pleasure of meeting Alicia Silverstone. We got into a conversation about healthy foods, healing foods. Alicia has been adhering to a macro-biotic food plan for some time now. She shared with me some stories about people with devastating illness who began to eat a vegan diet and their conditions improved or, in some cases, went away all together. I am not at all ready or willing to go completely vegan but many of the food facts that  we discussed made sense to me. I have been thinking more about the food I am eating and have even gone without eating any meats a couple of days a week. In her book, The Kind Diet, Alicia calls this “flirting.” You can find her book and some very interesting recipes by clicking here>>> http://www.thekinddietbook.com/uof/thekinddietbook/ps/. I was happy to see that I have been following a few of theses suggestions already. Reading the book is just like listening to her talk. She is very knowledgeable and understandable. If this is of interest to you, you may enjoy this website too. www.thekindlife.com. There are some interesting articles and some tasty recipes too.

By the way, Alicia is a gentle, genuine and generous young woman. She is quite devoted to helping folks get healthy by making good food choices. In fact, she is so devoted that she provided me with vegan meals for the last three days I was there. It made a huge difference in how I view vegetables, especially greens. With some of the meals she gave me a warning of sorts by saying, “This is not one of the yummy recipes so think of it as healing food because this is so good for you.”

So, it’s official, I am a flirt and I kinda dig it.

Ed and I ate lunch at Tidal Creek food co-op twice this week and, ta – da, he liked it!!!! He had some organic chicken and brown rice with veggies. I had Kale, quinoa salad and beet salad. It was good.

My baby steps today consisted of:

  • taking a 10 minute walk
  • 10 sit ups
  • 7 push ups
  • 10 jumping jacks
  • no dairy or meat today

Maybe by flirting with the Kind Diet and doing even this small amount of exercise it will get me back on the path to a healthy body.

Wish me well friends.