This widow’s walk

9 01 2016

2016 might just be the year of the big breakthrough for this widow. There, I said it. Widow. I still don’t like to say it but I am gradually giving in to the  concept. I am not in denial of Ed’s passing. I know in the depth of my being that Ed is with his Savior in Heaven and he is not coming back!  I  wouldn’t  want him to.

I have been in denial of the fact that I am no longer married. It doesn’t seem quite fair that I have no say in the matter. I did not fall out of love. I was not cheated on or angry with or in any way mistreated by my husband. I was in love with Ed right up until his last breath. I am still in love with him.

We talked about some things pertaining to his imminent  passing away but none of our talking or thinking was about the fact that I would no longer be his wife. When Ed died, I became his widow. I hate that part. I could not reconcile it in my heart or in my mind. It has not been a graceful transition, to say the least. It felt all wrong to take my wedding band off and yet it felt like a lie to keep it on. Although, I did keep it on for a long time. I finally found a way that felt “okay” not to wear my wedding band on my hand. I found a necklace that allowed me to wear both our rings around my neck.

This has been my 5th birthday, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year without my Ed. I am coming to terms with the fact that I am not married anymore. On New Years day, I did not put my necklace on. I have looked at it every day since and made a decision not to wear it today. I have tried this before and after a day or two have experienced such anxiety that I had to put it back on. It has been 9 days today without my commitment being worn around my neck. It is okay. I did not break my commitment. I fulfilled it.

I have said it before, grief is different in everyone. We each have to find our own path through the process. Sometimes we can follow a portion of the path that someone else has traveled. Most of the time we have to blaze our own trail. I can still weep with the thought of how much I miss my man. I am on the journey. One step, one day, and sometimes one hour at a time.

Last night, I had a small dinner party with 4 of my close friends. I cooked a pot of marinara sauce and meatballs like I used to do. As we sat around the table in my modest kitchen with full bellies, I took a moment to look around the table. Everyone was at peace and looked contented. Everyone there knew my Ed and were not self conscious to speak his name in a conversation. What really struck me was that we were all laughing, sharing food, stories and talk of movies. Fellowship. My home was alive with fellowship. Ah, but that is for another post.

 


Actions

Information

7 responses

9 01 2016
saraseidmanvance

I love you so much, Coni!!!

Liked by 1 person

9 01 2016
candress

Thank you Sara. I can always count on you.

Like

9 01 2016
Mary

Love you, Coni.

Liked by 1 person

10 01 2016
Widow's Manna

This is so beautiful, and hopeful. Not yet where you are, time wise. It has only been 14 months. But this posting was exactly what I needed to read. Thank you for being honest and real. And thank you for sharing your heart.

Like

10 01 2016
candress

I am sorry for your huge loss. This is not an easy journey. We help each other don’t we?

Liked by 1 person

10 01 2016
Widow Strong

Lovely post. I agree so much. I am at 2 year, 4 months and still consider myself married. Our wedding ring is still on my finger. I wear my husband’s ring around my neck when I feel like I need extra strength.
One day I will make the decision to take my ring off….. one day.

Liked by 1 person

10 01 2016
candress

You will know when the time is right. God bless you Widow strong.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment