A gift of rejection

15 01 2014

This ADD brain has spiked off the charts in the past few years. Whenever I sit down to write, my brain explodes into a million shards of brilliant ideas. I reach out and grab one, just one, to write about.

I tell myself, “You can do this, Coni. It will be intelligent and interesting. Make this idea into a short story. Maybe turn it into a poem. Nah, that is easier said than done.  Just make a cup of coffee first in the Keurig. It only takes a minute and then you can settle in and create. Who ever thought up the premise for a Keurig Coffee maker? Oh look, I am almost out of Columbian Fair Trade pods. Better put that on the shopping list then I can just wash these breakfast dishes while I wait for the coffee to brew. Hey! Oh no you don’t ADD. You are not gong to take me down a rabbit trail today. Whatever a rabbit trail is. Where do we come up with these sayings? Oh, hahaha. Go ask Alice, when she’s ten feet tall. I get it.” *sips coffee while staring out window*

I finished my last job, Sleepy Hollow, on December 30. Since then, I have been catching up on my rest, re-connecting with friends that are not in the movie business and re-decorating my house. That means, I need to go back to work soon. I am going to leave this for a minute and shoot out a resume right now. Don’t go away.

Resume sent! Now, where were we? Oh yeah, jobs.

I received an unusual gift a few months ago. A low budget movie came to my town and I would have liked to head up the hair department. I sent my resume upon request of the make up artist who had interviewed for her position. I was informed that my resume was “not very impressive.” I was shocked, insulted and horrified. The body of work that I have been blessed to perform over the past 19 + years looked pretty impressive to me. So, how is this a gift?, you ask.

I had a choice to make. Do I just blow them off or do I need to re-evaluate how I am presenting my work? I chose the latter. The most helpful thing I did was to show my resume to a fellow hair stylist, (she actually got the job I was seeking) who was gracious enough to give me some wonderful advice. I spent about a week putting together a good amount of information and I used a completely different format. I even contacted a couple of producers that I  have worked with over the years and asked their permission to use them as a reference. The result was humbling and fulfilling. I double dog dare someone to look at my body of work and label it as unimpressive again. Thanks go out to the un-named production who gave me a wake up call. I can not just rest on my laurels. I am still in the game and must put my best self out there.

Here is one iota of what I get to do for a living and a shameless use of celebrity photo to get your attention.

Marilyn Manson , wigged to look like the 1970s

Marilyn Manson , wigged to look like the 1970s


Actions

Information

2 responses

15 01 2014
Lisa Bullard

This is why I LOVE you (other than the fact you make me look fabulous). I love the choice you made to look at yourself, before shouting out vile thought processes to ‘that’ company. I bet they’ll kick themselves later for not hiring you though….I am hoping they do! LOVE YOU!

Like

15 01 2014
candress

thank you Lisa. It has taken me some time to learn to stop blaming everything else. That is just a repetitive cycle. Fix it if I can and dismiss it if I can’t seems to work better in most situations. Live and learn… I’m on the journey, one step at a time. Love you girlie.

Like

Leave a Reply

