I’m just asking…

25 04 2012

Disclaimer: I believe that not a one of us who claim to be Christian, has it all completely correct. We are all sojourners trying to make the best sense of it all. Now, these are some questions I struggle with in my journey.

  • If you have to defend your freedom to go to nightclubs, to drink and to use questionable language (ie: sucks, freaking, damn it) are you really free or are you in bondage to rebellion?
  • How many beers does a Christian need to drink before their state of mind becomes vulnerable to sin?
  • If a relationship with God is truly “all I ever need”, why is there a need for an adult beverage to take the edge off?
  • If I need an adult beverage to take the edge off is Jesus really all I need?
  • Who does not know that “freaking” is just a substitute for that other word? Really?
  • Is freedom in Christ really about being able to go clubbing and drinking? Is that why He went to the cross?
  • Are we just using (rather, mis-using) the phrases “free in Jesus”  and “no longer under the Law” to justify a sloppy Christian walk?
  • Should life as a Christian look just like life in the world?
  • Am I in bondage to religion and acting like a Pharisee if I choose to adhere to a certain list of do’s and don’t’s?

The devotion I read this morning is titled RUN TO WIN. The scripture that it is based upon is 1 Corinthians 9:24.

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize. Run in such a way that you  may obtain it.”

I am on a constant search for truth. I struggle with these thoughts because so many people around me, in the Body of Christ and even in Christian leadership roles, are living in this so called freedom. I struggle because I am losing my respect for leaders who are drinking to the point of getting tipsy and even drunk. I struggle because church is not a safe place for me anymore.

I don’t have the answers to my questions. I am really not being a smart alec by asking them. I’m just asking.

Some things I get right and that brings me peace. So many things I stumble over and that brings me anxiety and disruption. I want peace. I want sincerity and I want Jesus.

Therefore, I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight : not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified. 1 Corinthains 9:26 & 27


Actions

Information

3 responses

26 04 2012
Lisa June

Ms. Coni,
A few years ago I was that person who claimed my freedoms. But, as I continued to press into heaven & my spirit was truly AWAKENED, the Lord spoke to me about my so-called freedoms. He told me straight up, “If you override ‘freedom from death/sin’ with ‘freedom from the law’, you really has issues with submission (authority), selfishness & more consumed with sin than you think”- that put me in my place. That shut me up & shut my mouth. Now, because He gave His all and I am coming to the fill realization of this- I am willing to give up my “freedoms” to live & know His full abundance. I don’t want my free “Go to Heaven” ticket, I want my abundant living ticket where I can overcome and defeat sin on Earth and bring His Kingdom down.
I hear your concern & urgency. And I love you…

Like

26 04 2012
candress

Thank you for your comment Lisa. We have had several conversations on this topic in the past couple of years and I always take something away from our time together. Love you girl.

Like

6 09 2012
Brenda Clay

I understand your questions and comments. However, I do not seem to find the same attitudes in the churches and with the Christians I associate with. But I am aware that there are some, maybe more than I know who are living “without limits” and usually to their detriment. I grieve for our lack of a respected morality different from the world’s. I honor your search for truth and your serious thinking. You are on the right track.

Like

Leave a Reply

