Experience, strength and hope

21 02 2011

Okay. So, I have started to write several posts and I keep coming back to the beginning line of, “it has been a tough couple of years.” I have been hoping to not have to go into any detail at all, just get past it and write…. but that is not working out so well for me. So, I am gonna brain dump most of it in the hope that I can move on and write something inspirational out of all these experiences.

  • early one morning in 2009, I awoke to find my husband lying on our bedroom floor after he had passed out. His hip was broken.
  • before the surgeon could repair his hip he had to get Ed’s blood pressure under control.
  • that took 4 days of Ed lying in ICU with a painfully broken hip.
  • after the surgery, the doctors had a hard time stopping the bleeding.
  • I slept on a chair for many nights.
  • Ed was on a drug to control his pain. It is the same drug that he was addicted to back in the 1960s.
  • when he was moved to a room, my friends smuggled a cot up the back stairs and I slept in his room.
  • he was in the hospital for a long time before they could stabilize him enough to go to rehab and learn to walk again.
  • after a month in a rehab facility he finally came home only to pass out again and burst open the surgery site.
  • we had 911 come again to take him to the hospital. Again.
  • surgery again to re-close the area and many days in surgical ICU to get him to stop bleeding.
  • blood transfusions.
  • more addictive pain meds.
  • home healthcare to get him walking again.
  • we threw away his meds before he got himself addicted again.
  • he was forced to retire and sell his business. God has been so good to us, it all fell into place.
  • we used the money from selling the business and paid off our home.
  • I was able to stay home and help my husband get back on his feet.
  • a few days here and there of work started coming in for me.
  • i have gone back to attending AA meetings.
  • we got Ed an emergency 911 necklace for whenever he was home alone.
  • Ed has started having trouble with Hepatic encephalopathy. a by-product of cirrhosis of the liver in which the brain becomes addled and confused.
  • i hate it for him, and for me.
  • a couple of trips to the ER followed by days when he could not be alone.
  • our friends, family and church family have surrounded us with help and support so I could go back to work when the money ran out.
  • our grandson, Tony, came to stay with Ed and be his driver and help to care for him.
  • grandson went off to Navy boot camp after being accepted in the nuclear program.
  • Tony was released on a medical discharge due to asthma.
  • last september, my 89 year old next door neighbor ran over his 92 year old wife in their driveway.
  • I heard her screams and had to stop him because he is quite deaf and didn’t know he ran her over.
  • she died in the driveway before EMS could get there.
  • i have nightmares and day”mares”. i still hear her screams.
  • i am back to work full time in SC on Army Wives.
  • my grandson, Tony, is my room mate in SC. He is working in the accounting department on Army Wives.
  • i long to hear God’s voice speak to me.
  • most times i feel a million miles away from God.
  • i wonder if ADD is real or just a cop out sometimes.

So, yeah, it has been a tough couple of years. But I am desperate to move on. God is still God through all of this. it does not matter if I feel Him. He is and He has a purpose for all of it.

The end!


Actions

Information

4 responses

21 02 2011
Mary

I love you Coni, and am praying for you and Ed. Always here for you.

Like

21 02 2011
Fawn

I love you. You are a dearly loved daughter, an awesome mom & an excellent wife.

Like

22 02 2011
Helen

I love you Coni! Thank you for sharing (even though I already knew about most of it). Thank you for sharing. You are an amazing women and I look forward to hearing what God is going to start speaking through you now that all the junk is out of the way!

Like

12 03 2011
donna

wow, didn’t know all of that, just some. i hear ed is going thru something now. God bless you both. I am so proud of you both for all you have struggled through.

Like

Leave a Reply

