Pell grant has been very good to me

29 01 2010

When I got clean and sober in 1977, my life was in the pits. I was 24 years old with a four year old daughter. I was a single parent on welfare and I had no marketable skills. The last job I held was as a bartender/bouncer. I was fired from that job because I was beating up the customers and drinking the profits.

Within my first few months of sobriety my AA sponsor suggested I try to find some more help through professional counseling. I was fortunate to have a woman counselor who was compassionate and had a good understanding of how to help me over some tough issues. She is the person who directed me to go to cosmetology school through a Pell grant. It was an exciting time in my life. Hope was being born. I loved school.

The car I had was several years old. It had no heater and a leaky radiator. The wind shield wipers did not work. It was winter in Massachusetts when I was going to school and I would get all bundled up in my Army parker that came from Goodwill and cram myself into my car. If it was snowing, I had to pull off the road a few times to wipe the snow off the windshield. I was determined to finish school and I was happy to learn that I was pretty good at hair styling.

Shortly after graduating from classes, I was able to get a job and I began to support myself and my daughter. All these years later, I am still prospering because of a Pell grant. Today, I work as a hair stylist for television and films. It is an incredibly exciting and creative job that I still love to this day.

Whenever I see the  ads encouraging folks to go back to school and learn a marketable skill through a Pell grant,  I think, go for it! I am so grateful that I did. I think I can safely say that I am a success story because of the people who helped me get my life on track. And I am grateful, of course, to the God Who arranged it all.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

