red heart on the wall

10 01 2010

Just when I thought I had it all figured out, God changed the playing field. I wanted to be a gospel singer and minster for the Lord. He wanted me to be a hair stylist for television and film… and to minister there. This is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. I have had to find the balance of walking my faith out instead of preaching it. It is mandatory for me to love people unconditionally. On my own, it is too much for me. I am not proud to say that I have wanted to throw the towel in many times since 1994. The fruit of this “ministry” is few and far between making me ponder if I am ever making a difference in this world. Fear and doubt have wreaked havoc with me. Disappointments are plentiful. I am constantly reminded to get out of the way and let God do His thing.

It began in 1999 as a prayer for a colleague. She just plopped right into my life when I wasn’t looking for a new friend.

Without going into too much detail, I came to understand that God had placed her in my life and that I needed to pray for  her.

About three years ago, the Pastors at Rock Church invited the members to write on the platform of the stage with sharpies. We were instructed to write the name of someone who we knew needed to have an encounter with Jesus Christ. Within seconds, I picked up one of several markers that had been placed on the edge of the stage, knelt down and wrote the name of the woman I had been praying for since 1999. I prayed something like this;

“Father God, Please open of the eyes of the understanding for the person I am writing here. Let them see their need for a Savior. Let them understand that the Savior is Jesus. Amen.”

Simple, to the point, from my heart.

In 2009, my colleague, who has since become my friend, gave her life to God. She asked Jesus to be her Savior. A couple of weeks later,we were together at Rock Church and I told her the story of the names written on the stage platform. I pointed to her name and told her I have been praying for her and her family since 1999. Together, we placed a red heart over her name as a celebration that she had come to know the love that God has for her. Then, we moved to another spot on the wall and wrote her daughter’s name. I have been praying for this young lady for years too.

Last week, I had the honor and privilege of showing this beloved young woman the scriptures that explain how much God loves her. She got it! We prayed together and she asked Jesus to forgive her sins and guide her life. It is going to be so exciting to see how God moves in her life.

I am grateful that God did not allow me to give up. In my flesh, I wanted to walk away from this family. I told God that this was too hard for me. He should use someone else who could do a better job of loving these souls. He wouldn’t hear any of it, of course. Some times, we plant the seed. Sometimes we water the seed some one else has planted. Sometimes we get to harvest the fruit. I am extremely humbled that God allowed me to reap the harvest this time. One day, when she comes to Rock Church, we will place a red heart over her name too.

God’s love is amazing.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

