How much is too much?

23 12 2009

Every Christmas for the past several years, we have joined my best girlfriend and her family for Christmas dinner. Last year she asked if i would cook the turkey… and stuffing, of course…. and gravy! I was flattered that she likes my cooking that well and I was happy to do it. I love to cook around the holidays. In case you didn’t know it, I am a “foodie”. I cooked it all bright and early on Christmas morning and had it ready for dinner at her house by 1 PM. It was a little more stressful than I anticipated but still, I was happy to do it. She asked me to do it again this year and I said YES right away.

I have come to realize that I think I can do everything I want to do. I always say ‘yes’ because I don’t want to miss out on anything. As a result, I often have to much on my plate because just when I have said yes to everything, something unforeseen comes up. That “something” usually unbalances the plate and before I know it, I am like a circus act plate spinner running frantically to keep all my plates on their poles. Exhausting!

After my episode with taking the dog’s pills (see post below, “God, what are you doing?”) I recognized the symptoms of being stressed out. Every time I thought about cooking the turkey and trimmings this year, my stomach just turned. I hated the idea of not doing something I say I will do. I despise going back on my word and even more – giving in to anything. Plus the fact that I really want to cook for our Christmas dinner and I know My girlfriend has so much to do that it would really help her to take that chore off her hands.

Ed and I discussed the whole situation and we agreed that I was just “too stressed” to take on anything more right now. So, I called Nancy (dreading it). First, I relayed the story of Ed’s visit to the ER and my extra curricular activity. Of course, she understood right away my need to relinquish the responsibility of cooking and she made me feel like I had made the right decision. Real friends are awesome.

I don’t know if I will ever learn the lesson of not piling my plate too high. But I am grateful for friends who understand when I need to unload and for a husband who speaks wisdom to me… every time I do it. 🙂 It is good to be understood.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all. Remember to share the love this season and always.


Actions

Information

One response

23 12 2009
Fawn

Huh, it always tickles me to find new ways in which we are alike. I too tend to pile too much on my plate – not wanting to miss out on anything. I too am learning how to limit my schedule to something close to do-able.

I sure do love & appreciate you!

Like

Leave a Reply

