God, what are you doing?

15 12 2009

It has been a rather strange weekend, even by our standards.

Friday morning, Ed slept in late. I didn’t think too much about it until the second time I went in to wake him and he fell back to sleep again. That is not like him. He slept for 12 hours. When he finally got out to the kitchen, I got him a cup of coffee and left the room to take care of some things. I came back in five minutes or so to find him sleeping in the kitchen chair. Okay, he’s got my attention now. Bless his heart, he thought he was fine but I noticed his hands twitching and he was having difficulty putting words together. To make a long story short, I made a call to our doctor, a trip to the ER, test to confirm ammonia levels elevated, sent home with medicine and instructions. We were grateful he was not admitted and we had a solution.

By Saturday the symptoms had abated and he was almost clear headed. I kept an eye on him to be sure he was taking his meds properly. Then, I took my supplements and got the dog’s medicine together. Daisy, my 13 year old walker hound, has pancreatitis and nausea. I had a fairly long to-do list. I was standing at the kitchen table, talking to Ed and stressing a little. I had a glass of water in front of me and I swallowed the pills in my hand. Two seconds after I did that, I realized I had just taken the dog’s meds. What a dork.

My list got longer. I had to add a phone call to the vet to ask what kind of trouble I was in for taking this anti-nausea medicine for a dog. Then, I had to re-prioritize my list and move > forcing myself to vomit < straight to the top of the list.

Thankfully, the rest of the day went much smoother. In fact, I got a text message from a friend that I have been praying for since about 2005. I have seen her do well for a while, only to fall prey to some of her personal demons time and again. She wanted me to know that she has been going to church here in town and asked if I wanted to have coffee or lunch after church. WOW! She ended our conversation by saying that she was enjoying her new way of life.

Sunday was a wonderful day. Rock church had a Christmas celebration service that included some beautiful music, very stylish dance numbers , a relevant message of hope and a duet that reminded us to make this Christmas about giving of ourselves.

My friend came to the house for coffee and biscotti and we had a very nice time of fellowship. We talked about finding our purpose and living our lives for that purpose. I shared honestly that my dream, at one time, had been to help hurting women find their worth in Jesus Christ but I had reached a point where I wasn’t sure that I wanted to do that anymore.

I am not as sure of my purpose as I once was. My small group has been studying a book called Reaching your Dreams by Tommy Barnett. I have been praying and searching my heart to re-connect me to my dream, my purpose.

Later that night, this friend called me to say, “Thanks for never giving up on me.” She went on to say, “You cannot stop helping broken women. You have made a difference in my life.” She ended the call by saying that she wanted to be like me and she wanted, someday, to have a husband like Eddie. At the risk of sounding redundant, WOW! The moving thing about her saying that is not that she wants to emulate me. The real cool thing is that she is sees Jesus in me. It is His unconditional love that is drawing her to Himself. It is His peace that is beckoning her.

I am so humbled that He allows me to be a part of His plan. And, I am so stinking excited to see what God is doing in her life.

God, is that You speaking to me through this person?


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

