Bucket List

20 08 2009

What do you do to prepare yourself for a change? I have this unsettled feeling. It is the feeling that usually indicates to me that there is a shaking up of my world on the horizon. If you asked me, I would tell you that I have been through enough changes in 2009. Thank you very  much but I think I shall pass on this one. Oy, what a year it has been.

I am shocked to stop and think that it is August already. Kids are heading back to school and summer is coming to an end. Time is speeding by.

Ed and I have started talking about a bucket list. We are thinking about the things we would like to do before we, you know, kick the bucket. If you saw the movie with Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, you know what I am talking about. Don’t worry, we are not giving any coded messages. We just realize that everyone is going to have an end sometime and ours is closer now than it has ever been.

Ed has always had a wander lust. He loves to travel… anywhere. His days as a merchant seaman were some of the most fulfilling years of his life for that reason. I like to be with him when he travels, so that is high on our list. Our Christmas trip to Florence, Italy a couple of years ago was the best vacation ever!!

We both enjoy writing. We have co-written a children’s story. We would like to pursue getting it published. That may be a pretty lofty goal because we have no formal training and know very little about the publishing and distributing end of such things. For a certainty, self publishing is not the way we want to go. Without a distributor, we would be giving everyone we know children’s books for Christmas, christenings, Bar Mitzvahs, etc… for the next several years.

Ed is editing a novel he has been writing for, at least, 15 years. That is quite an accomplishment. I am so proud of him. I get to read it when he finishes editing. We will probably try to get that published as well.

These are just the beginning of the  ideas for our list. We have enjoyed a fabulous life together. God has been so amazingly good to us. Because of His grace and mercy, He has blessed us with much more than we deserve. If you had met me 35 years ago, you never would have seen me as the person I am now. God has truly transformed my life from the sad, angry, rejected, self-pitying mess of a drunken junky into the peaceful, contented, hopeful, faith filled, successful hairstylist for film and television that I am today.

My goal for the next little while is to work as much as I can so we can save the money to accomplish our bucket list. That is, unless Jack Nicholson wants to finance our bucket list like his character did in the movie. In that case, we can think of a few more things to put on the list.

Change is on the way. I am not sure what it will be but I am preparing myself by leaning on Proverbs 3 verses 5&6. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart. and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your path.” The Message Bible puts it this way; “Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure everything out on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume you know it all. Run to God.” The words in both translations are a little different from each other but the thought is the same; trust God.


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 08 2009
Bryan McGee

I am so proud of you guys. God has HUGE plans for you both and I can’t wait to read about the new adventures that await.

Carpe Diem Coram Deo!

Like

21 08 2009
Matthew

I want to read Ed’s book!! I had no idea he used to be a seaman. That’s awesome!! I’m always jealous when I see those guys on movies because it seems like such a life of freedom. I hope you guys knock out everything on your list and then some.

Like

Leave a Reply

