God is on our side!

15 06 2009

Hey, I can’t believe I am actually getting a moment with a – sort of – clear mind to write something.

Ya’ll can figure out from past posts what has been going on in our lives. Crazy! But through it all God has been faithful and powerful! Not just because Ed is doing so much better but because He has been with us every step of the way. God has gone before us and opened the way for Ed to be under the care of some pretty good doctors here in town. The surgeon who took care of his hip is the ortho for the sport teams in town. He did a great job on for Ed BOTH times. I counted SEVEN doctors that we have been seeing for different aspects of Ed’s accidental fall. My mind and my calendar are trying desperately to keep it all sorted out. We still have tests and doctors visits looming over our future, but it’s all good. One test leads to another diagnosis and that leads to a follow up and that… well, you get the picture. Add physical therapy three times a week and it stays pretty hectic.

Ed is doing great walking with his cane now. He mostly uses just the cane but he gets worn out rather easily so we keep the walker around for when he needs something to lean on.

The latest diagnosis is pulmonary hyper tension. We are awaiting an appt. at Duke for a heart cath and some more exams. If all of this results in a way to help Ed get off the constant oxygen, we will be happy. We know that God is at work in the situation. Ed also has a night of tests at a sleep disorder clinic tomorrow night. They are checking for sleep apnea and other sleep disorders. Fun, fun, fun! Of course, the thought of having to sleep somewhere when people have you hooked up to stuff makes him quite nervous. The biggest concern is that he won’t be able to sleep at all. I imagine everyone goes through that though and they must have a way to deal with it.

Tonight, I am going out with a few friends to celebrate a birthday. The four of us plan a night of bowling and eating pure junk at the bowling alley. As always with this crew, there will be lots of laughs. We went out last week to see a movie together and I laughed so hard that I cried my make up off. I am not going to wear make up tonight in anticipation of a repeat performance of uncontrollable laughter. The Bible says “Laughter does good like a medicine”. That couldn’t be more true! It was a good shot in the arm for me. I love hanging with people who know how to have good, clean fun. We don’t laugh at someone else’s expense but we see the humor in ourselves and in each other. Heck, sometimes I just laugh at them laughing. Can you tell I am so ready for this?

Ed’s best bud, Mr. Glenn, is coming to pick him up and they will go out to dinner together. Mr. Glenn’s wife is out of town… so the guys can hang out for a while and talk about guy stuff. Whatever that is.

Well, that is the catch up on my life. I hope it made some sense to you. So many of our friends and family have continually been praying for us and we want you to know that we couldn’t have made it this far without your love. Thank you, thank you.

I will wrap this up with my new, favorite quote, I hope it inspires you to realize the greatness of God.

“This is God’s universe, He does things His own way. You might think you have a better way, but you don’t have a universe.” J. Vernon McGee

Seize the day and make it count for something great!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

