Free from fear

6 02 2009

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, “who am I to be so brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?” Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us. It’s in everyone and as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.
– Nelson Mandela

God wired me with a unique personality. There is no one else on earth who is just like me. He wired me this way for His purpose. 

When I was young, I used to ask God why He allowed me to be born when it seemed like no one wanted me. After many years, many heart aches and many miracles… I know that He has always had a plan for my life. There is greatness in me. Part of my destiny has been to fall in love with and be a help mate, a life partner, to my husband. To bring my daughter, Fawn, into this world and then to lead her to God’s throne of grace. To be the one to lay hands on her first born just seconds after he was born and to claim him for God and God alone. To pray for my grandson, Brandon, to become the man that God created Him to be s that he will walk in greatness. To usher my big brother to God’s throne of grace just  2 weeks before cancer took his life. To be instrumental in leading my mother to the Hound of Heaven, Jesus, who left the 99 to find that one wandering sheep. He never gave up on her.

What other things has God called me to accomplish in this life? I will never know if I allow fear of greatness to keep me stagnant. I must move out in faith. I must be liberated from fear and let my life shine. I must tell you that God has placed greatness in you and it is the right thing to do when you let it shine. Let us not be afraid of what God has given us. Let us not bury it under timidity or false humility any longer. Let us place it on top of the basket and let it shine. There is no telling what a difference we will make in our world.


Actions

Information

2 responses

6 02 2009
ransom33

Absolutely beautiful and inspiring.

Thank you for your words. Thank you for your energy and faith and the hope that you instill in others.

Blessings,

ransom33 @ http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

Like

17 02 2009
Rachel

I absolutely love this quote!!! Because I have a tendancy to allow my fears and inadequecies hold me back from doing things, I read this quote often to remind myself.

Thanks for the reminder once again Coni! 🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

