Know when to say no

9 01 2009

I love taking notes while listening to the preacher / teacher. I got to take some good notes today as we gleaned from some pertinent scripture verses. The worship was sweet and fun (unseemly combination for music but none the less…)
“A margin,” said Pastor B. “is a place between who you are and your limits.” There have been too many times that I have pushed the margin or boundary in my life. I let other things usurp my plans and I call that ‘going with the flow.’ I just don’t like to say “no” to things. I wish I could do it all but I find that I cannot. As a result, the important things in my life get relegated to a back burner and sometimes don’t get accomplished at all. When that happens I feel like a big, fat loser.
Your life is unique, just as my life is unique. What works for you and what God is working in you is not the same for me. We must each find our own limits and then prioritize the important things in order to function well.
Here is a list of my priorities as I see them today;

  1. God. Prayer. Reading the Word.
  2. Ed. listening. Spending time.
  3. Children and Grand children. Pray for them all.
  4. Ministry. See folks come to a relationship with Jesus.
  5. Work. Make a paycheck.
  6. Blogging and reading blogs. Writing.

If I can keep these things straight I will have a powerful 2009.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil. 4:13


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

