Sorry Clyde

30 12 2008

I thank God for my sense of humor. Life has thrown me some incredible curve balls in the past 56 years. The older I get, the more I realize that life throws us all curve balls. It is all about how we deal with the craziness that makes us who we are. My friend Angela says she is an Eeyore and I am a Tigger.
There has been a recent curve ball in my family life. Let me begin by back tracking a couple of months;
My daughter called to let me know that my seventeen year old grandson was in the hospital in Florida where they live. It seems his appendix needed to come out, so off he went to surgery. This kiddo and his younger brother are closely tied to my heart. I needed to hear Tony’s voice and to let him know that Noni was praying for him. My daughter, Fawn, gave me his cell phone number and I called him and left a message for him while he was in surgery. I said something close to this. “Hi Buddy, It’s Noni. I want you to know that I am praying for you right now and I love you like crazy. I will call you later. Love you, bye.”
They called me after his surgey and gave me the phone number for his room and when he came out of the recovery area and was brought to his room, I called and spoke to him on the hospital phone. All was well.
A few days later, I got a call on my cell. Caller ID identified the call coming in from Tony. I answered, “Hey honey, how are you?” I did not recognize the voice that said, “Hey baby, who is this?” I said, “it is Noni and who is this?” “Clyde. So whtchu doin’ baby?” “Where is Tony? Put Tony on the phone!” Clyde said, “Tony ain’t here baby, this is clyde. Watchu doin?”
I hung up, called my daughter and discovered that she had given me Tony’s old number. Duh! I finally got his new number and changed it in my phone.
Yesterday, my daughter called me to let me know that Tony did not come home the night before and he was not answering their calls. He was upset about some family stuff and decided to leave home. After talking for a while, I decided to call my boy. Frankly, I was surprised that he did not pick up for me, but I left him a message something like this, “Hi Buddy, it’s Noni. I talked to your Mom and she told me you left home upset. I need you to call me and let me know that you are safe and alright. If I don’t hear from you by six o’clock I am getting in the car, driving down there and I will hunt your A.. down. Call me. I love you.” Then I texted him. (I love technology.) “Don’t make me worry. If u don’t wanna talk text me back our secret word so I know you are ok.” Again, I was surprised that he didn’t contact me right away. I know we have a special bond and he trusts me. Well, nothing to do now but wait and see.
At around 5 o’clock my phone rang and caller ID identified Tony. I grabbed my phone and said “Hi Buddy, Are you alright?” This unrecognizable voice said, “Who is this?” My first thought was that he had a friend call me so I identified myself as Tony’s Noni and asked who I was speaking to. “This is Clyde. Tony ain’t here.” “What do you mean ‘not there’? Where is he?” “I don’t know. This is my phone. Tony is not here!” I noticed a slight tremor in his voice. “Well, tell me your phone number so…” Now his voice was shaking AND about an octave higher as he interupted my question. “I don’t Know my number. Uh uh.” And Clyde hung up on me.
I was very alarmed and called Fawn immediately. I discovered that she had given me the same phone number that I had before which, of course, now belonged to Clyde. The first time, Clyde thought he scored himself a new girlfriend. After this last call, poor Clyde is probably watching his back, expecting phsyco Noni to come hunt his A.. down. Oh well, maybe ol’ Clyde needed something to think about.
As for Tony, I got the right number, called him and heard back from him in 10 minutes. He assures me he is in a safe environment and I am certain he will work things out with his family. The love is very strong between them all and Jesus is still in charge.
Thanks to all who have been praying for Tony and our family. Please continue to pray for reconcilliation.
As always we are living, laughing and loving. And falling down along the way.


Actions

Information

3 responses

30 12 2008
Helen

Praying for all of u.

Like

30 12 2008
Heather Mark

I’ll comment right back atcha! I’m not usually getting AlphaInventions hits over 100 anymore, but I get 50 plus. I’ve had a few comments, but like you said, not many. I still don’t get it, and i don’t understand why one of my blogs gets double digit hits and the other gets a few. I’ll take what I can get, though. And I get to read blogs like yours, that I might not have ever known about. Thanks for the comment! Happy New Year.

Like

3 01 2009
awilhite

Oh dear! Oh my! And all those other “oh’s!”

And like you said, who knows how God will manage to use your “wrong number” calls to poor old Clyde.

God bless!! (And watch out for those stampeding horses)

Love, A

Like

Leave a Reply

