love ’em where they’re at

12 12 2008

I am happily at home after a long week of work. I heard the f… word more times this week than I can count. Seriously!!! I even dreamed some of the curse words that I heard this week. Although I make it a point not to complain about the swearing around me, some of the crew guys that I have worked with for years will apologize to me if they see me with in ear shot of whatever just flew out of their mouths. Most times, I just shake my head and walk away. It is just the nature of the business to hear a bunch of garbage on sets.
Today, I tried to walk away from the offensive language  and it seemed like every corner I turned someone else  was vociferously using the f… word. Blech! Finally, I looked to heaven and asked God what I am supposed to be doing and why am I here. The question reminded me of something that Bill Hybels wrote about when he was in a similar situation.

Bill said;

“I find myself thinking, ‘What am I doing here? The voices are loud, the language is foul, the egos are out of control. Why am I here?’ And often I hear the Holy Spirit say to me, “You are building bridges. You are establishing trust. You are laying the ground work for future conversations that might happen a year from now. You are doing the kind of thing that Jesus did.”

Well, alrighty then.


Actions

Information

One response

13 12 2008
Tim

yep! and if only it was easier.

love ya

Like

Leave a Reply

