Hit the Road Jack

28 11 2008

Ed and I were talking about the summer that our oldest grandson, Tony, came for a one month visit. He was about 6 years old and he lived in Hawaii with his Mom and Dad. It cost a pretty penny to fly him to the east coast so we kept him for a good long visit. We had a great time together. One of the things we planned was a trip to Six Flags in NJ to meet his aunt, uncle and cousins.

Tony was a good traveler. We packed a picnic lunch for the first day of our trip. We stopped along the way at a nice rest stop and had our meal. Some where along that trip, we were listening to the radio and the song, Hit the road, Jack started to play and we all started singing along. A little while later, Tony piped up from the back seat.

“Noni”, he said. “From now on, I want you to call me Jack.” So, I said, “OK Jack.” Hey Jack, would you please roll your window down?” “Hey Jack, would you please pass a soda up front to me and Grampy?” I was just trying to think up stuff so I could call him Jack.

Then I said, “Since you are changing your name to Jack, I want to change my name too.” He thought that sounded like a fun idea and he said “Sure, what do you want me to call you?”

I said I wanted to be called Precious. Silence from the back seat. After a moment of deep thought, he stated in a matter of fact tone, “Uh, you can just call me Tony.”

I love being called Noni. There are a select few besides my grand children that call me by that name. That is special to me.