Election night is finally here

4 11 2008

Tonight, I am reading blogs, listening to the election reports and praying for God’s will to be done in our country. The big night is finally here.

I have done my civic duty and voted for the man I would like to see become the next president of the United States of America. In fact, I voted a week ago, just because I could.

I have discussed both candidates, watched Fox news AND CNN, researched on-line and paid close attention to the debates. I heard a lot of junk talk about what HE is doing wrong when I wanted to hear what YOU are going to do, but I listened just the same.

This is a historic election for this country. The simple fact that a black man is a candidate for president and a woman is candidate for VP is a colossal step in our culture. It is bringing the best out in some of us and the worst in some of us.

For me, this election has come down to the right to life. I firmly believe that life begins at the moment of conception. When I heard John McCain say that same thing during his interview with Rick Warren, my spirit leaped. I have probably known from that moment that I would cast my vote for him. I still listened and researched what both parities were planning to do. I agree more with a lot of McCain’s doctrine. Yeah, i had to say it.

So, I did it. My vote is cast, my reasons have been examined and my conscience is at peace. NOW, who ever wins this election will have my prayers and my respect. I will not be a divisive member of society if my guy doesn’t get in and I will not gloat if he does. Last night, I had the privilege to join 200 other Christians on-line praying for BOTH candidates and running mates and their families. It was an incredible time of unity in the Body of Christ. Those who were voting for McCain prayed blessings and protection over Obama and vice-versa. We called out the names of the candidates and their spouses and their children by name and asked God to touch lives. Thank you Carlos at ragamuffinsoul.com for making that happen. I love your heart.

I have to tell you that I am SOO NOT a political person and it is pretty weird to put my opinion out here. I am an American and I do love my country. So, I will close this post by asking God to bless the United States of America.