My prayer

19 10 2008

“Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to God as we understand Him.” This is step three of AA.

There is a prayer in the Big Book of AA that goes along with this third step. It goes like this: “God, I offer myself to Thee – to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy power, Thy love and Thy way of life. May I do Thy will always!”page 63 of Alcoholics Anonymous, chapter called “How it works”.

This prayer launched me on a heartfelt search for something worth living for. Something much larger than me was beckoning me on to a destiny that I never could have imagined at the time.

I will always remain grateful to Alcoholics Anonymous and the principles of the 12 steps that have led me into the good life that I live today.

I came to AA because I was desperate to find something worth living for. Alcohol had decimated me. Suicide was a frequent thought along with the notion that my life would never be any better than it was right then. Believe me, THAT was a depressing thought. I had no idea how to live without alcohol and drugs.

God put AA folks in my path. They had peace and joy, two things that had never been present in my life. I was not looking for God. It would have been good enough just to have a desire to live and not die. Little did I know that I would find peace and joy when I turned my will and my life over to God as I (little) understood Him. In this respect, AA saved my life.

Bill Wilson and Dr. Bob were 2 hopeless alcoholics on a desperate search to unlock the chains of alcoholism. They loved God, they prayed and sought Him and were still bound to alcohol until Bill Wilson had a spiritual awakening. He reached out to help Dr. Bob who was hopelessly engulfed in alcoholic destruction. These men put together a program of recovery for alcoholics who wanted to overcome their malady. The first AA group had been formed in 1935, in Akron, Ohio.

This is a very brief synopsis of AA. It is a program made up of spiritual principles which, when put to use, WILL lead alcoholics to God. God is the power that keeps an alkie sober. So, if you are disheartened by a lack of success after going to AA meetings, I humbly suggest that you give up. Give up trying to do things your own way. Just turn yourself over to sober people at first and let them guide you into the footsteps they took to sobriety. Sober alkies who are working the program cannot help but introduce you to God who has the power to get you sober and KEEP you sober. Follow instructions. Read the book. It says; “Remember that we deal with alcohol – cunning, baffling, powerful! Without help it is too powerful for us. But there is One who has all power – that One is God. May you find Him now.” pg59, chapter 5, How it Works.

When you find God, turn your will and life over to Him. He can be trusted to do a much better job with your life than you have been doing.

Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. James 4:8


Actions

Information

One response

20 10 2008
Fawn

We’ve been seeing God set people free from addictions lately. It is awesome & exciting.
Just last night in worship God gave me this picture. It relates to that concept of turning yourself over to an almighty God, who has the power to keep you from falling.
I saw just a flash of His hands, spreading out the heavens like a curtain.
These hands bigger and stronger and more capable than any here on earth.
Then I saw Him hold out those hands, and sensed Him saying, “Hand your struggles, the insurmountable and the everyday – to Me. Together we can overcome.

Love you!

Like

Leave a Reply

