Step one scriptures

10 08 2008

It was a crazy process that got me to the place where I could finally admit defeat and recognize that I needed help if I was ever going to be free from my obsessive, compulsive drinking and drugging. I could not change my behavior on my own. I wanted to stop being a drunk. I desired to be a good mother, the kind of daughter that a mother could be proud of and to be a good and trustworthy friend.

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do. No, the evil I do not want to do – this I keep on doing.” Rom 7:18-20

This is where I was at the end of step one. Powerless. Recovery begins with the admission that I am powerless. I cannot manage my life or anyone elses life. I am powerless over people, places and things. My life is unmanageable.

“But, He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness (powerlessness).” 2 Cor. 12:9

In the fifth chapter of the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous there is a paragraph that reads, “Remember that we deal with alcohol – cunning, baffling, powerful! Without help it is too much for us. But there is One who has all power- that One is God. May you find Him now.” It goes on to list the 12 steps which are suggested as a program of recovery.

The 12 steps are a way of life that point us to God. Not a light bulb or a doorknob. God. A power greater than ourselves.

In step two we came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity. More on this later.


Actions

Information

One response

11 08 2008
Fawn

Oooh, what a teaser!

Love you

Like

Leave a Reply

