back to normal?

28 07 2008

Things are beginning to get back to narmal around here. That doesn’t mean the same thing for every household. Normal for us is still unpredictable. I have one day of work booked this week and one day of work booked next week but that could change in a moments notice.

It is wonderful to be back home, none the less. Yesterday at church was fabulous. I got to sing and see friends and, lo and behold, the youth sponsored a spaghetti lunch. Perfect since we had no groceries at home! Ed and I got good food and good fellowship. Gotta love a Sunday like that.

Pastor B. brought a message that was very timely for me. I get so caught up with work and all the other every day stuff that, many times, I put my time with God aside until “later”. Only “later” never gets here. I know, I know. So sue me cuz I am not the perfect Christian. Still striving, still growing and still somewhat surprised when I get something right. Hey, ya got to enjoy the journey.

I got this email from my sister, Barbara today. Here is something simple enough for even me to keep in mind.

Ten Commandment s

Some people have trouble with all those ‘shall’s’ and ‘shall not’s’ in the Ten commandments. Folks just aren’t used to talking in those terms.. So, in middle Tennessee they translated the ‘King James’ into ‘Jackson County’ language….. no joke, (posted on the wall at Cross Trails Church inGainesboro , TN)

(1) Just one God
(2) Put nothin’ before God
(3) Watch yer mouth
(4) Git yourself to Sunday meetin’
(5) Honor yer Ma & Pa
(6) No killin’
(7) No foolin’ around with another fellow’s gal (or another gal’s fellow)
(8) Don’t take what ain’t yers
(9) No tellin’ tales or gossipin’
(10) Don’t be hankerin’ for yer buddy’s stuff

Now that’s plain an’ simple.   Y’all have a nice day.

Italics were added by me. Hope I didn’t make things more complicated by doing that, but I needed to hear it that way.

thanks sis.