Inspired thoughts

14 04 2008

The subject of the Church (?) of Oprah has really inspired me to think. I am using this video as a catalyst to encourage us all to know what we believe and why we believe it.

I appreciate the comments below. I know Sara’s heart and she is truly concerned with the souls of people. I know Pastor B’s heart and he also is concerned with introducing people to the LOVE of Jesus.

I have no interest in bashing Oprah. I happen to agree that she has done some admirable things and she has handled her fame well, for the most part. I believe that she is honest in her beliefs and that she truly wants to make a difference in this world. I think her heart is honest and good. In short, I agree with everything that Pastor B. had to say. I just don’t happen to agree with this particular method and I think it is a good thing to be inspired to think for ourselves.

Recently, I heard Myles Munroe say this. “If you do not know what you believe, any road will take you there.” So true. It is worth repeating, “If you do not know what you believe, any road will take you there.”

 I heard O say that her turning point was hearing that God is a jealous God. I agree with Sara’s comment that “she missed the point”. O followed that statement by asking the question, “God is jealous of me?” Answer; No dear one, God is jealous FOR you. He does not want to share your love and affection with anyone else. There is a depth of love relationship that God desires with us that causes Him to want us all for Himself. And yet, His love is so deep that He gives us free will to choose Him. God gave us the very best of Himself when He sent Jesus, not to condemn the world, but to save mankind. That is love. Not that we love Him but that He loved us first.

My friend Ernie is a grown man. A husband, a father and a college student. He works full time and attends classes in counseling. One of the professors at the college he attends said this. “If you do not know what you believe and why you believe it, I will change your beliefs.” That is another thought provoking statement.

All I am asking is, do you know what you believe? Do you know why you believe it? Do you know the Way?

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

15 04 2008
Fawn

Such small, seemingly insignificant words “of… for…” but man what a difference they make for effective communication!
I picked up on that same point – and it spurred me to be intentional as the boys & I study in order to have a solid grasp on the basics.
Love you!

Like

15 04 2008
awilhite

It is true that the empty mind is easily swayed, but we also do not want to get calcification of the brain such that we can’t recognize an unfamiliar truth when it bangs us in the forehead.

Sometimes I am painfully aware that we all live in a howling wilderness of lostness, and it’s a miracle any of us find God at all.

Like

Leave a Reply

