A Dose of humor

10 02 2008

weighing-right.jpg

SO… THIS IS HOW IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE DONE.

I HAVE BEEN DOING IT WRONG ALL THESE YEARS!

This tickles me so because I have been watching my diet for the past several weeks. Part of my reason for wanting to lose the weight is vanity. In my business, it is pretty important to look your best. 165 pounds is not my best. So far, I have taken off 7 pounds.

My biggest reason for watching my diet is: I have decided that I will do all within my power to live to be 100 years old and still have my wits about me. There is still a whole lot that I want to accomplish before I check out of here and start my heavenly choir singing. It has taken me all of 55 years to just begin to realize my potential.

While I was working in Virginia, I got a call from my doctor’s nurse. She told me some results of some tests that were a part of my regular check up. The results showed possible cirrhosis of the liver, pulmonary fibrosis and an auto immune disease, “but don’t worry, it’s not AIDS. We think it could be Lupus.” Hmm. Don’t worry?

Well, I decided there was not a thing I could do about any of that until I go talk to the doctor so I made an appointment to see him as soon as I got back into town. The right side of my brain, otherwise known as Ed, went with me. The Doc quickly dispelled any hint of cirrhosis (praise God) and ordered another set of blood work for the lupus and a CT scan for the pulmonary area. I got a call the next day to tell me there is NO lupus. I await the results of the CT scan and the breathing tests.

I am so grateful that I did not allow my mind to go into extreme fear mode when I talked to the nurse.  I was definitely concerned but it did not seem to get in the way of my work or the fun I was having with co-workers. I did ask for prayer at my church when I got home and I feel pretty calm about whatever the results may be. God has it all in control. Psalm 139:16 assures me.

“…in Your book they were all written, the days fashioned for me.”

In other words, it’s all good.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

