Books and Birds

19 01 2008

lazy saturday

I love me a rainy Saturday. Sometimes I need permission to stay in my jammies and cuddle up with a dog on my couch and a good book in my hands. It doesn’t matter that it is 3 o’clock in the afternoon. Bella and I are quite satisfied to just chill out today.

I am almost finished with Mark Batterson’s book, In a pit with a lion on a snowy day. Great title by the way. It has an even greater message and it is exactly what I need to consider at this time in my life. I am feeling encouraged to watch for those God ordained opportunities. I have quit beating myself up and decided that I am right on schedule and something incredible is around the corner. The author says, “A dream becomes a reality one opportunity at a time.” I am determined to enjoy the journey and stop fretting over the what if s.

Completely unrelated:

The sight of a bright red male cardinal in a green fir tree is one of the most beautiful visuals that nature affords. My Mom loved cardinals and would often call me to the window to see whenever one would land on our bird feeder. There were a couple of times after Mother passed away that I was feeling blue and perhaps even a little depressed. At those times, I saw a cardinal in the yard or in a tree nearby and would think of it as God’s way of reminding me of my Mom and of the beauty in life. Sometimes, I imagine my Mom sitting with Jesus and telling Him that I need a little lift today so, would He please send a cardinal my way to bless me. Then I say, “Thanks Ma.”

Now, I know that is just a little game I play with myself. I know that cardinals live in the tree outside my front door and I can see them almost everyday. I just feel especially blessed when I remember that God knows the simple things that thrill my soul.


Actions

Information

One response

20 01 2008
jennifer

So love the pic. I was in my jammies most of yesterday and slept until 10:30 am today. Today was a great day! A good excuse to enjoy the quiet.

Like

Leave a Reply

