Just in time!

10 05 2012

Timing is the key to comedy.

What if you had learned how to ski? Maybe you even got to ski every day for two weeks in a row and you felt like you were pretty good at it. Then, for next twelve years, you never got to get up on your skis again. You went to the slopes, you watched the other skiers and picked up some good tips on how to maneuver on the slopes but, you didn’t get on the skis.

That is how I felt about working with lace wigs. I had two weekend classes with one of the best in our business. Colleen Callaghan taught us finger waves, period hairstyles and all kinds of wig work. I felt pretty confident after her classes. The problem is that I never got to work on a lace wig. I got to use every other thing she taught us as I honed my skills but, for some crazy reason, not lace wigs. I have worked beside other incredibly talented hair stylists and watched them apply the wigs and make it look like that hair was growing right out of the scalp. I even handed the pins, passed the wig cap, held the bottle of glue and watched them press that lace into the skin until it could no longer be detected. But, I had no confidence to do it myself.

Last year, another wig class was being taught in NY by another wig master. I signed up and flew to NY by myself to take the class. Immediately after signing up for the class, I was hired as the hair department head on season 3 of EastBound and Down. The main character wears a mullet hair piece and there would be some other wigs involved in the show. Yep, timing is the key to comedy.

I stayed in NY with my friend, Michelle, who had hired me on my first job in the film industry. She had been inviting me for years and I finally took her up on it.

I had worked on a show before with the teacher, Werner Scherer, and was thrilled to set up my station next to him on that show so I could watch and learn. But now I had the chance to perform my lessons in front of the teacher so he could correct any bad habits I may have formed. It was a great class for me and restored to me some confidence for wig work. The only thing I did not get to do in that class was actually glue the lace onto someone’s forehead. When I told that to Michelle, she grabbed a lace wig she just happened to be working on at her house and took me out to her backyard patio. There we sat while I glued the lace to Michelle until I was confident working with wig glue!!! How blessed am I?

 

If I only knew how much wig work would be involved in the filming of my show, I definitely would have panicked. As it turned out, I knew everything I needed to know just in time to have a successful season and do some fun work with some great talent.


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 08 2012
Rita

Hey! Just came across your blog and I am currently looking to take some courses in wig making in NYC. Any suggestions where I can look? I’ve been on this computer for days trying to research wig making courses. Please help. Thanks , Rita

Like

10 09 2012
candress

Rita, I would advise you to contact the Broadway theaters and ask about wig making courses. Best of luck.

Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

